Home Owerri Ozisa Fm beat Orient FM To Win Imo Radio League

Ozisa Fm beat Orient FM To Win Imo Radio League


Just few months after their establishment, staff of Ozisa FM will be smiling home with their first glory after beating state owned Orient FM to win the maiden edition of the Imo Radio League.

In a final match played on Sunday December 8, 2019 at Kanu Nwankwo Sports Center, Owerri, Imo State, Ozisa FM put one arm on the trophy with a first half goal from Stanley and in the second half, they doubled their lead to make things more difficult for Orient FM whom they also defeated at the group stage.

Orient FM pulled one back  through the tournament’s highest goal scorer Chima Eze who was marking his sixth goal in five matches, but it wasn’t enough to stop the Saviola Godwyn led Ozisa FM from winning the maiden edition of the tournament.

DONT MISS:  Eceleb Awards 2018: October 7th is the day, no excuse to boycott the 'headies of South East'

For winning the tournament, Ozisa FM got N200,000, leaving Orient FM with the second place prize money of  N100,000. Second runners up, Darling FM got N50,000 while My Radio/Gold FM, Zanders FM, Reach FM, NTA, and Bloggers/Print Media got N30,000 participation prize each.

With the Imo Radio League affording staff of various radio stations in Imo State the opportunity to come together for the first time, participants have commended the organizers for their efforts in putting up the tournament which is the first of its kind.

DONT MISS:  Imo State House Of Assembly Endorses Ugwumba Uche Nwosu For Governor

Mr. Cosmos Chukwuemeka, the chairman of the tournament planning committee hailed the participating teams as well as the sponsors of the tournament,  pledging that everything that did not go well in this edition will be made better in subsequent ones.

Imo Radio League was sponsored by Bet King, first City Monument Bank and Tecno.

Individual awards were given as follows:

Chima Eze (Orient FM) – Highest Goal Scorer

Kelechi Nwokeji  (Ozisa FM) –  Best Goalkeeper

Bloggers/Print Media – play Award

Top scorers at the tournament are:

1. Chima Eze – IBC Orient – 6 Goals

2. John Chibuzo – Ozisa FM- 5 Goals.

DONT MISS:  How HOT FM's Transmitter room & De Angels Restaurant all burnt beyond recognition in separate fire incidents

3. Njoku Joseph – NTA – 4 Goals.

4. Uzorma Circuit- Reach FM – 3 goals

5. Ken Idimogu – Ozisa FM- 3 goals.

6. Stanley Okwu- Ozisa FM- 3 Goals.

7. MC Ogene – Darling FM- 2 goals.

8. Jonathan Opara – IBC Orient – 2 goals

9. Chinedu Hardy Nwadike – Bloggers/Print Media – 2 Goals.

Have something to say?